Historical Mystery Timeline

There are a lot of historical mystery reviews on my blog – so I thought I’d do a chronological index. I’m not being too precise at the moment and this is a work in progress, so be patient. I’m also going to include major series by authors who I haven’t reviewed so far, in particular for older eras. There are probably too many twentieth century historicals to list, so I’ll just include those that I’ve read. Once we get past 1066 in the UK, I’ll classify them by monarch. For a series, I’ve given the name of the sleuth – for a one-off (including where I’ve only read one) then I’ve given the title of the book.

The Ancient World

Egypt – 2000 BC

Egypt – 1479 BC

Greece c. 334 BC

Rome – from 80 BC

Jerusalem 29 AD

Alexandria 36 AD

Rome from 69 AD

  • Falco – Lindsay Davis

Roman  Britain 91 AD

Bithynia c. 100 AD

Rome 313 AD

The Dark Ages

Ireland c. 666 AD

The Medieval World

Stephen (1135-1154)

Henry II (1154-1189)

Richard I (1189-1199)

Henry III (1216-1272)

Edward I (1272-1307)

Edward II (1307-1327)

Edward III (1327-1377)

Richard II (1377-1399)

Edward IV (1461-1470, 1471-1483)

Richard III (1483-1485)

House of Tudor

Henry VIII (1509-1547)

Elizabeth I (1558-1603)

House of Stuart (inc. Cromwell)

Charles I (1625-1649)

Oliver Cromwell (1649-1658)

Anne (1701-1714)

House of Hanover

George II (1727-1760)

George III (1760-1820)

George IV (1820-1930)

House of Saxe-Coburg & Gotha

Queen Victoria (1837-1901)

Early Twentieth Century

European Historical Mysteries

US Historical Mysteries

5 Responses to Historical Mystery Timeline

  1. Pingback: The Puzzly – The ISOTCMN Book of the Month – December 2012 | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  2. Donna says:

    This is a godsend. I lead a mystery discussion group at the library and want to do “the history of England in mysteries” for 2014. I know I want to start with Brother Cadfael and probably end with either Maisie Dobbs or Inspector Ian Rutledge, but I hadn’t filled in the middle yet. Your timeline will be a big help. You might want to try Bruce Alexander’s Sir John Fielding series if you haven’t yet, set in the reign of George III.


  3. I’ll make a note of that series, but I’m concentrating on fleshing out the medieval section at the moment – my personal favourite era. Do keep checking on this timeline as I find I’m constantly updating it.


  4. Pingback: A Murder At Rosamund’s Gate by Susanna Calkins | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  5. Shona MacLean could be mentioned here too. Her novels about Alexander Seaton are situated in 1626 and onwards. Then her novels about Damian Seeker start in 1654.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s