The Puzzly – The ISOTCMN Book Of The Month – September 2016

September’s been an odd month for my reading habits – it started exceptionally well, with five books in five days, but when the school term kicked in, my job took priority with the same number of books in the entire rest of the month. A few other bits and bobs got in the way too, so in a minute, I’m off upstairs to find an old favourite author to kick-start my reading. Oh, I did get a quote and a link on the Big Finish website for my review of The Sacrifice Of Sherlock Holmes. That was cool, although it would have been nice if they’d got the blog name right…

Anyway, as I said, ten books this month. Let’s see who’s providing the wallpaper for the next month and is walking off with the Puzzly…

So the books in question were:

Well, biggest disappointment goes to The Four Armourers – such a comedown from Death Walks In Eastrepps – and biggest surprise to Closed Casket, not perfect, but a massive improvement on The Monogram Murders. One big high-point was A Deadly Thaw, a cracking follow-up to In Bitter Chill, from fellow blogger Sarah Ward (and thanks for the invite to the launch party).

The winner of the Puzzly this month, though, is the first for a frequent visitor to the blog – namely John Rhode – for Peril At Cranbury Hall. A cracking tale from the Golden Age with a clever central idea and is a lot of fun along the way. Good luck finding a copy that doesn’t need a second mortgage to buy but I was lucky – keep your eyes open. It’s definitely worth it.

Next month – a couple of historical novels, an Historical Dagger winner and its sequel, and a big pile of Golden Age goodies from the nice folks at the British Library and Dean St Press that I’ve been neglecting a bit. And hopefully I can get my reading back on track. Fingers crossed. Oh, and with luck, my 1000th post (this is number 987) where I have second stab at a competition which hopefully will last more than ten minutes this time…

 

5 comments

  1. I like the fact that we can all be surprised by certain authors or books (good or bad surprise).
    1000 posts! And I though I was doing well, having just crossed the threshold of 900. Here’s to many more!

    Like

    • Something about this one just clicked – it avoided the problems that some of his books have, primarily the similarity of structure, and, while at the end of the day it’s a bit of a shaggy dog story, it’s a lot of fun. Not remotely humdrum…

      Like

Leave a Reply

