The Puzzly – The ISOTCMN Book Of The Month – July 2014

Another month, another pile of mysteries reviewed. As with last month, a number of new releases, a couple of classic authors, and, for the first time in ages, not a single historical mystery – how strange. As I’ve frequently mentioned, it’s been a busy time with a house move that’s taken up a fair bit of my time – so I only managed to read and review ten books. Hang on, that can’t be right…

So, with ten books to rate, surely that’s going to make the Puzzly – my book of the month – difficult to pick? Actually, it’s never been easier…

So the books reviewed were:

Any other month, there would be a few strong contenders vying for the right to provide my wallpaper for the next month – apart from a couple of strong classic mysteries, there’s the impressive debut novel White Crocodile from K T Medina. But everything else is swept away by the pre-apocalyptic World Of Trouble by Ben H Winters, finishing off a must-read trilogy featuring Hank Palace, The Last Policeman. If you haven’t encountered this series, I strongly recommend it.

As ever, check out Mysteries In Paradise for my fellow bloggers picks for the month’s reading and stick around for a busy August.

 

2 comments

  1. I’m really intrigued by the storyline–solving mysteries in the shadow of the impending apocalypse. I wish I didn’t have so many books on the docket at the moment. Definitely putting the trilogy on the TBR list, though.

    Like

    • So many books to read – a common problem. As I was sorting through my pile of books, there were so many authors and books that I’d forgotten about that I meant to get back to… and that’s not even counting those on my Kindle. Ah well, it’s an enjoyable problem.

      Like

Leave a Reply

