Alys Clare

Alys Clare aka Elizabeth Harris has written thirteen mysteries featuring the Abbess Helewise of Hawkenlye Abbey and Josse d’Acquin.


Before travelling to England to assume the throne, Richard I decides to release all criminals from jail – to make himself popular, apparently. When a nun is brutally murdered in Kent, he sends Josse D’Acquin to help Abbess Helewise find the culprit.

Just as Sir Josse returns to the area, Helewise trips over a dead body on the edge of the nearby forest, murdered under a full moon. Cue rumours of the forest folk and nightly trips into the woods by a pair of women from the abbey with secrets to hide.What is hidden in the forest that is worth killing for?

  • The Tavern in the Morning (2000)
  • The Chatter of the Maidens (2001)
  • The Faithful Dead (2002)
  • A Dark Night Hidden (2003)
  • Whiter Than the Lily (2004)
  • Girl in a Red Tunic (2005)
  • Heart of Ice (2006)
  • The Enchanter’s Forest (2007)
  • The Paths of the Air (2008)
  • The Joys of My Life (2009)
  • The Rose of the World (2011)

5 Responses to Alys Clare

  1. janice jeffrey says:

    i would like to know when book 14 will be available/ j jeffrey

  2. Pingback: The Ashes Of The Elements by Alys Clare | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  3. Denise Gearardi says:

    I’m new to this series and like it very much, but I’m wondering why many of her books are so expensive?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s