The Puzzly – The ISOTCMN Book of the Month – March 2013

Book of the month 2013March 2013 has been an interesting month for me, bookwise. I had an interesting exchange with the one and only Christopher Fowler, met Kate Ellis for the fourth (?) time to get the latest Wesley Peterson signed (review next month) and, blogwise, the “Original Sins” strand sort of fizzled out, due to primarily a lack of enthusiasm from me. When even some of Paul Doherty’s offerings from the period weren’t particularly exciting me, I knew it was time to move on. More on what comes next at the end of the post.

Anyway, this month, I read and reviewed eleven books in total – and resurrected my Sherlockian Shorts strand – so which of the following earns the coveted Puzzly (and the privilege of providing the background to my blog) for March 2013?

As ever, the Puzzly is part of the Mysteries in Paradise Pick Of The Month meme.

The books in question were:

Our Lady Of DarknessProbably for the first time, it’s hard to pick the Puzzly because nothing leapt out and grabbed me to yell “Pick me, pick me!”. There are plenty of good reads there, especially Playing With Bones (but Kate won it last month), Bryant & May, Cop To Corpse, Vigilante and Fatal Induction, but I think it’s time to award the Puzzly to the long overdue Peter Tremayne for Our Lady In Darkness, another strong entry in a consistently enjoyable series.

What’s coming up on the blog? Probably a bit more Carr, after remembering how good a writer he was, after The Curse Of The Bronze Lamp. There’s a couple of “proper” reviews – you know, new releases, including one from an historical author who I’ve criminally overlooked for the past two-and-a-bit years. And I’ll be starting Medieval Miscreants, a strand to try and cover as many historical authors who set their mysteries from 1066 (The Battle of Hastings) to 1485 (The Battle Bosworth Field). I’m still on the hunt for author suggestions – this is the current list (plus more in the comments) – especially for the 11th and 12th century. Oh, and I’m not going to keep to strict chronological order, as otherwise you might get a concentration of a certain author (guess who) – I think it’s five books out of six in a row. As such, I’ll bounce around the era a bit, but you can keep an eye on my progress on the Historical Mystery Timeline.

Oh, one last bit of business – can anyone recommend crime bookshops in New York City, as I’m off there for a week very soon? Cheers

About Puzzle Doctor

I'm a mathematician by nature and as such have always been drawn to the logical side of things. Hence my two main hobbies being classic mysteries and logical puzzling. Oh, and cats. No logic there, I'm afraid.
This entry was posted in Book Of The Month, Peter Tremayne, Sister Fidelma. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Puzzly – The ISOTCMN Book of the Month – March 2013

  1. TracyK says:

    Impressive list you have there. I am eager to try (or return to) several of those authors. And looking forward to all of the future reviews you have planned.

    No suggestions for New York. I am just envious of people who get to go to mystery bookstores in other cities. We have a great independent bookstore, not focused on crime fiction but still a great selection. But we haven’t had a bookstore dedicated to crime fiction in a long time.

  2. Bev Hankins says:

    Hey, Steve! Great list. I’ve got the Carr book on tap for this year (not sure when I’ll get to it, but it’s down for various challenges, so I know I will at some point). I also need to get back to the Fowler books–there are a couple of those on the TBR stacks (including the Off the Rails).

    I’m not a frequent visitor to NYC, but the last time I visited (2009) I had a nice little bout of book-buying at Partners & Crime Booksellers on Greenwich Avenue. Nice mix of new titles and used books on the shelves.

    • Bev Hankins says:

      Darn. Just looked them up further….they’ve closed. :-( ‘Fraid that’s the only one I knew….

      • Thanks anyway, Bev. I’ve a couple of places to try.

        Thing is, when I was last in NYC (ten plus years ago) I found two shops, one a block west from Central Park, one a block east, both chock full of old paperbacks going for a song, and I spent a happy day walking back and forth across the park filling up my Carr collection. And can I remember where they were?

Leave a Reply

