Introducing The Puzzly – The ISOTCM Book of the Month Award – March 2012

Over at Mysteries In Paradise, Kerrie has been running a meme entitled Crime Fiction Pick of the Month. If you pop over there, you can see some of my fellow bloggers’ choices for the best book they’ve read this month, and I figured, why not? I’m not the world’s greatest when it comes to blogging challenges, due to my magpie-like attention span, but I’m pretty sure I can remember to produce a list every month. So, here goes.

In March, I managed twelve novels – namely

To be honest, I’d say that the quality of my choices was a little lower than usual. There’s at least one there that I actively disliked, enough for me to seriously reconsider another book by the same author and at least three more that I thought were iffy – but in those cases, having already read more from the same authors, I’ll consider them blips. Which is a bit of a double standard, if I think about it too carefully. Maybe I need to give Candace Robb another try.

Anyway, time to announce the In Search Of The Classic Mystery Book Of The Month. The recipient of this month’s… hmm, need a name for the award. A Puzzly? That’ll do until I think of something better. The recipient of this month’s Puzzly is Martin Edwards for All The Lonely People – an outstanding mystery novel, with human characters, a vibrant setting and a proper mystery as well. An honourable mention must go to the biggest surprise of the month, The Hanover Square Affair by Ashley Gardner, a Kindle cheapie that I starting reading expecting to loathe it – based on the cover alone – but turned out to be a great read, with a genuinely surprising killer.

OK, same time next month? And if someone can think of a better name for the Puzzly award, I’d love to hear it…

ADDENDUM: Just for fun, I’ve put together a retroactive post for January and February.

About Puzzle Doctor

I'm a mathematician by nature and as such have always been drawn to the logical side of things. Hence my two main hobbies being classic mysteries and logical puzzling. Oh, and cats. No logic there, I'm afraid.
This entry was posted in Ashley Gardner, Book Of The Month, Martin Edwards. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing The Puzzly – The ISOTCM Book of the Month Award – March 2012

  1. First off, congrats on the prodigious reading and posting Steve – you and Patrick are an example to all us slower readers! Both of these titles are definitely on my TBR piles these sounds like fascinating titles – thanks very much for the recommendations, which are greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Sergio

  2. Pingback: The Retroactive Puzzlies for January and February 2012 | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  3. Bill Selnes says:

    The Puzzly is a great award name! No one will forget it. Authors will come to cherish a Puzzly.

    • Well, I’ve used the phrase in two separate posts now, so I guess it’s going to be the name from now on. Thanks for the affirmation that it’s not a totally horrendous name :)

Leave a Reply

