Exit Stage Left by Adam Croft

Charlie Sparks used to be a big name in TV comedy, but is now reduced to doing token gigs in his local pub. But when he mysteriously drops dead on stage, mysterious stranger Kempston Hardwick investigates. Can he stay one step ahead of the police and catch a clever murderer?

Adam Croft has written three novels, all available via Amazon, two in the “incredibly successful Knight and Culverhouse” series – incredibly successful in the sense that they topped the Kindle chart, at least. I’m guessing that’s a little easier than topping the printed fiction charts, especially if you keep your prices low.

So, was this another bargain freebie?

It’s very hard to be negative about something that was free. I have to make something clear though – this isn’t a novel.

It is mentioned on the Amazon page, to be fair, but this is a novella and, it seemed to me, a very short one at that. That’s one of the things about Kindle, you have difficulty doing a page count, but I read it from start to finish in about 45 minutes. That’s quite a good thing, in this case, as if I’d put it down, I’m not convinced I’d have come back to it.

The book is clearly written in the classic mystery vein – all the clues are there, the suspects are assembled at the end… but I’m sorry, I’ve read all of this before in better books. The method of poisoning is obvious in the extreme, although given the nature of the poison, it does seem rather slow-acting. Oh, and if you change the type of poison – it starts off being tetanus poisoning, but changes to something else late in the book, you might want to point out that they have similar symptoms – otherwise your casual reader might just think that you cheated a bit. And when you reintroduce a character from the beginning of the story for the big reveal when they haven’t played any part of the investigation…

There are a couple of nice touches – I quite liked everyone assuming Hardwick was a policeman and letting him question them because of it, but they are outweighed by the negative, such as the character of Hardwick himself. I never got any sense of why Hardwick sticks his nose in – or even why he thinks there is foul play involved when the police don’t. Croft attempts to make Hardwick a cipher, but I just found him generic and bland. To be honest, it’s all a bit dull.

I could rant a bit more, but I can’t find the inclination to have a go at something that was free – if you want a short read that’s got a vaguely decent puzzle in it, you could do worse. But you could also do a lot better than this – Dana Stabenow’s A Cold Day For Murder, for example.

About Puzzle Doctor

I'm a mathematician by nature and as such have always been drawn to the logical side of things. Hence my two main hobbies being classic mysteries and logical puzzling. Oh, and cats. No logic there, I'm afraid.
This entry was posted in Adam Croft. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Exit Stage Left by Adam Croft

  1. Ouch! Well, I’m still not kindled up yet, but in anticipation I shall considered myself well and truly forewarned! So, how many kindle books have you got so far? is the investment paying off?

    • Well, I think it’s a great investment. Being able to get a number of good, very cheap books has been a boon – I would never have found Dana Stabenow or James Finn Garner without it, but you have to take the duff with the smooth.

      It’s never going to replace those papery things – I can’t read the Kindle in the bath and certain authors – Dr Doherty for example – aren’t well-represented on it (three out of the four cheap Athelstans have vanished) but it has widened my reading a lot – just check out how few Dohertys that I’ve read so far this year – only three!!!

      I’m going to post on it soon with more of my thoughts – when I have some.

      • To be honest I have trouble reading paperbacks in the shower anyway … but hey, I hope you are gettign a half term break to enjoy the new gadget. All the best,

        Sergio

      • Maybe a hard back with a really good dust jacket – if you only wanted to read the blurb, that is…

        The gadget is more for school (and other non-home locations) as it’s so damn portable. The smaller non-keyboard kindle fits nicely into a jacket pocket.

  2. Pingback: The Retroactive Puzzlies for January and February 2012 | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Leave a Reply

