More Sherlock – Recommended Reading

I seem to have attracted a large number of extra visitors thanks to my review of the first episode of series two of Sherlock, A Scandal in Belgravia – it’s currently my 13th most visited post out of 144 after about 24 hours - so I thought I’d put together this short list of recommended books for my new visitors.

Why? Well, because I see in bookshops some repackaged versions of the Doyle stories that, in my opinion, may well disappoint readers expecting (in some cases) a full novel or something with the spark of the TV series. Not wishing to be controversial, but the TV series has to me transcended the source material. It works perfectly to go from source to series, but going in the other direction is going from vibrant to dull.

I’m going to recommend a few releases that a) I’ve already reviewed and b) are readily available in bookshops or as ebooks.

She Died A Lady by John Dickson Carr/Carter Dickson

Available on Kindle along with a few other fantastic novels – The Burning Court, He Who Whispers, The Plague Court Murders and The Problem of the Green Capsule – these are all outstanding locked room/impossible mysteries.  Just stay away from And So To Murder from the same author.

The Nightingale Gallery by Paul Doherty

One of four Brother Athelstan mysteries available on Kindle – don’t be put off by the medieval setting. These are cleverly plotted mysteries with a touch of the fantastic about them. So much better than the better-known Brother Cadfael.

Edge by Jeffery Deaver

I’ve picked that one as I’ve reviewed it, but if you want something that, like Sherlock, is constantly twisting all over the place with regards the plot, I’d recommend almost anything by Deaver. The best books are probably The Coffin Dancer, The Devil’s Teardrop, Roadside Crosses and either of his short story collections, Twisted or More Twisted. All of these are available in most bookshops, libraries or charity shops.

Over to you now, readers. What books would you recommend for a fan of Sherlock and why? One proviso, they must be readily available, either as ebooks or actual papery things.

About Puzzle Doctor

I'm a mathematician by nature and as such have always been drawn to the logical side of things. Hence my two main hobbies being classic mysteries and logical puzzling. Oh, and cats. No logic there, I'm afraid.
This entry was posted in Authors, Brother Athelstan, Carter Dickson, Film and TV, Gideon Fell, Jeffery Deaver, John Dickson Carr, Locked Rooms and Impossible Murders, Paul Doherty, Sherlock, Sherlock Holmes, Sir Henry Merrivale. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Sherlock – Recommended Reading

  1. Pingback: Sherlock – A Scandal In Belgravia – TV Review | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Leave a Reply

