The Siamese Twin Mystery by Ellery Queen

A very different mystery for Ellery Queen this time. In the equivalent of the British “Country House”-style murder, Ellery and his dad are trapped in a house with a bunch of rather odd characters on top of a mountain while a forest fire blazes around the base. Obviously someone, Dr Xavier, the head of the house, is murdered but for the first time for Ellery Queen there is a finite set of suspects – so can Dannay and Lee (aka Ellery Queen the author) pull off a piece of literary legerdemain without resorting to the tried and tested “person that you’ve overlooked” trick that has been almost a constant in the first six books. Or, can they still use this trick with a cast of only twelve characters?

When people cite the best of the early Queen novels, the two that are commonly mentioned are The Greek Coffin Mystery and The Chinese Orange Mystery*. Well, I think people who ignore The Siamese Twin Mystery are missing out one of the finest mystery novels of the time.

First off, the verbosity of the writing style, which hit a critical level for The American Gun Mystery, has been pulled back to an enjoyable level. Likewise, Ellery has been toned down a bit and seems a much more likeable character. That’s rather important here, as none of the major characters seem remotely sympathetic here, so we need someone (i.e. Ellery and his father) to empathise with.

Secondly, the explanations are generally less technical than before. When the book presents a floor plan and points out there were four doors into the scene of the crime, I was worried we were going to get one of Ellery’s multi-page explanations that really needs a flipchart and some slides. To be fair, there is a discussion on the difference between how a left and right handed person would tear a playing card in half, but it’s quite short…

As the things that have bugged me about the recent novels have receded into the background, this book reminded me of why I love Ellery Queen novels in general. It took me an age to get through The American Gun Mystery, but I polished off this one in about a day. I’m not going into detail on the plot, as it twists and turns all over the place, but it does include one piece of trickery that I don’t recall seeing anywhere else. It’s such a simple idea, but does an amazing job at misdirection.

A couple of points to finish with. One, Ellery seems to have forgotten his edict about giving a solution that he’s not 100% about, as he gets through a few here before getting it right and second, given how sniffy Ellery is about dying messages, why on earth did the writers keep using the bloody things?

Anyway, very minor gripes. This one is an absolute classic. Get down to your second hand bookshop and try and find a copy. The best of the lot so far.

* Oh, I should say that Sergio over at Tipping My Fedora is the exception to the rule. That’s why you should read his blog as well.

About Puzzle Doctor

I'm a mathematician by nature and as such have always been drawn to the logical side of things. Hence my two main hobbies being classic mysteries and logical puzzling. Oh, and cats. No logic there, I'm afraid.
This entry was posted in Ellery Queen. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Siamese Twin Mystery by Ellery Queen

  1. Great review for a great book! it’s funny but I don’t remember the characters being particularly unsympathetic but probably I was swayed by the depiction of the fun-loving brothers into ignoring that side of things. And as for dying messages, there are certainly many more of those to come!!

    Really looking forward to your review of the classic mystery that is CHINESE ORANGE MYSTERY – thanks for keeping up the good work.

  2. puzzledoctor says:

    I avoided mentioning the brothers, but you’re right, they are fun. Thinking about it a bit – maybe I should do that before I write these reviews – it’s only really the Xaviers and the mysterious Smith who are a bit unpleasant. Although given the small cast, some don’t get much to do at all – the nurse, whose name I forget, for example. Very much looking forward to the Chinese Orange myself, by the way, but I think I need something non-Queen or Doherty first.

  3. puzzledoctor says:

    Oh, I’ve removed a couple of words from your comment (between classic and mystery). If you consider that book as what you originally described it, it does rather give the murderer away…

  4. Pingback: The Chinese Orange Mystery by Ellery Queen | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  5. Pingback: My Favourite Mysteries – Part One | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  6. Pingback: The Mystery Tour of the USA | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  7. Chandra says:

    I was deciding to dip into Ellery Queen mysteries for the first time, and your rather lucid summaries have definitely helped me decide to buy at least The Siamese Twin mystery! Curiously, I stumbled onto your blog via a google search for The House in Goblin Wood, and have also decided to follow your suggestion of finding it in The Third Bullet!
    Thanks a lot for the very informative blog!

  8. curtis evans says:

    Very late to this, but I wanted to say that I agree completely with your review. This is hands down my favorite Queen and I am glad someone agrees with me!

  9. Pingback: The Four of Hearts by Ellery Queen | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

  10. Pingback: Some Mysterious Odds and Ends | In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Leave a Reply

